Skip to content

Revived, recharged?

25 August 2008

I went home this past Saturday morning, and it was a struggle getting out of the house. I woke up at six to shower and pack, but lethargy kicked in and I stayed in bed for an extra 45 minutes. I poked and prodded my companion in sleep crime to wake him up with words of love…and bossyness. Haha. We were definitely going to be late and by my calculations, we should have left at 8am, or eight-thirty at the latest. We left at 9 o’clock!

It’s just like us, well sometimes more him than I, but we share the burden together, to drag our feet when we have to be somewhere. Sometimes people just don’t understand, we have jobs, we have duties, we require SLEEP. We are human after all. Ha! So, we arrived for the wedding just in time as people stood and snuck our way in the back. Overall, the entire thing was a bit short and predictable( but what else of a Roman Catholic wedding?) However there were a few moments of laughter and chuckling, so it was not a complete shot to the head. In an odd way it felt good to be in my old church of my childhood and look up at all the stained glass. Although, looking up at the ceiling (the bland and blank white ceiling) I couldn’t help feeling sad for the people who would have to look up and not see what you would normally find in a cathedral: paintings! So, as the priest prattled on and on, I imagined colours being washed and stroked above our heads and forms taking shape, as if I were reconstructing a Michaelangelo flat on my back spread out on scaffolding, but only with my mind’s eyes. This lasted for thirty minutes.

After the charade was through, we drove to my parents for an hour, and then proceeded to the reception to only get lost and go to a friends home instead where she had to give us directions and actually became my chauffeur for the evening/night. My beautiful roomie had to leave right when we pulled in the reception drive-way, stranding me for five hours with very little to do, much less to socialize. (My best friend was maid of honour so she had elsewhere duties so I had to mingle for the entire day, making pointless conversation. But at least there was punch & FRUIT!) He had a run for cancer that he does every year, but it was last minute (as all things are with him, hehe) and I instead left the reception with my friend Heather the chauffeur previously mentioned and enjoyed ourselves at her humble abode feasting on margaritas, shrimp (stolen from the reception, of course) and butter squash soup fifty miles away while he partied and went to a bar, ha! I cant wait until I’m 21 and can legally enter the pubs. (However, in up-up state New York it isn’t hard getting in underage at all Ive been served countless times. Shh… hehe)

So, as I was tired having worked all week, she & I went to bed at a decent hour, after getting ourselves rather smashed as it was, and I fell soundly asleep to the soundscapes channel (what a marvelous thing that is!). Soundly, that is until 3am when he calls waking us up, with a stupored lip. This irritated me, yes, but I was glad to hear his voice before going to bed & slept more soundly for it. Weird I know.

Sunday, what can I say about Sunday. I was ready to go home. Having recharged with my friend Heather, seeing true nature, breathing fresher air and seeing my family, disfunctional as it is, was what I needed. So, Heather and I went out for a true country breakfast, brunch we call it, and got to see a few others I had left behind. (In a small town, everyone knows everyone!) Since she is a kind and compassionate friend, not to mention being able to spot a good opportunity to go shopping when she sees one, hehe, Heather drove me out to Plattsburgh to meet up with my lover penguin only to discover when we arrived there, he had arrived where I had stayed the night previous! So, after some confused chuckles, and a slight bit of irritation, we planned on going to dinner as he wanted to meet up with other peoples, and I not wanting to piggy-back decided to go to the cinema while he frolicked the streets of Plattsburgh further. We chose “Mirrors” after grabbing some good conversion and coconut coffees at Borders, sitting in the green house lounge basking in the sun. Mmm, how good the cafe tasted as the sun hit my face!

The movie jarred my core, which tells me and also allows me to tell you that it was a sensational movie. There was one part where I was jumping in my seat, which does never happen! Needless to say, the next bathe I take will be done with the mirrors covered! Ha! Towards the end I had to leave the theatre for a tick in order to discuss dinner, if we were or not, and then brisked back in for a very troubling ending. But good I say, good! Overall, we Heather and I gave it 4 stars! Haha. So after some good eating and finally meeting up with my penguin for the first time all weekend, I said my farewells and hugged my hugs. Looking u into the sky I knew I needed to come back home and continue to maintain the bridges I had worked so hard for. That safety net is never forgotten and I will never forget where I have come from! 

So, having finished dinner at around seven-thirty, I was ready to leave, but much to my disappointment it wasn’t until after ten and then not until 1am did I go to sweet dreamy land! That is one thing about carpooling with someone who you love yes, but hate to ride and tag along with because its always hours after you expect to do anything. Very quite comical sometimes, but irritating on others. Now, having awoken at 6:30am this morning, I am not in best of moods. Having my hopes of hiking on my day off crushed by not only the rain but having to arrange an oil change for someone else and potentially moving someone into a new apartment. I love how others think it so within their power to dictate my days off. They may not do it consciously, but I like my days off, and planned on retreating into nature and just getting some “Me time.” So, after doing some dishes, hoping that the air-conditioner gets fixed today as well with the list of things to do, am I recharged? Or was this two day vacation roller-coaster the size of it? Being back now, only feels like a chore, and I should feel revved and ready to go, only I don’t. It’s funny how life throws you, traveling here there, having to keep up with other people’s agendas, not in any way wanting to help with yours. Perhaps this is just a bit of selfishness, and I just need to suck it up. But it’s my day off and other people can just piss off! I’m going for a walk in the sprinkle-ness outside and I’m going to LOVE it!

Namaste.

No comments yet

Leave a comment