Skip to content

I Would Sing the Dance of Fireflies…

16 June 2012

If I sang a song of Summer,

I would sing the dance of fireflies.

My lullaby would frolick across the winds,

Filling the hearts of bumble bees.

A cricket symphony of violins,

A deep bass of pond bullfrogs.

I would sing the dance of fireflies.

My lullaby would be of sunshine, of starshine.

The sound of lady and hummingbird wings.

If I sang a song of Summer,

We would make love by the light of the Moon.

(c) Saturday, 16 June 2012

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 16 June 2012 12:42 am

    great poem, but your last line doesn’t give me something sticky to ponder upon

  2. 16 June 2012 12:58 am

    Wonderful post! I am reblogging this & you will love my little piece that accompanies it

  3. 16 June 2012 5:43 pm

    Reblogged this on yasniger and commented:
    TALL DREAM

    Closed eyes clasp the warm darkness,
    Shutting out the silvery glow of the moon smile.
    The cantata contest invade with its happiness,
    Carrying all in the still air of the mating mile.

    Oh how simple the peace of this revelry,
    The mind and ears wonder the vastness of it all.
    Clinging on sanity with man’s overt mystery,
    Wishing all love melts into this dream so tall.

  4. 16 June 2012 5:53 pm

    This is terrific. Every night around 8:30 PM outside my house fireflies are lighting up the night. It’s awesome. And they’re friendly! I guess that’s why they’re so easy to catch in jars. I love this time of year.

  5. 17 June 2012 6:51 pm

    I would have you dance my friend. God, I pray that your country can find it’s peace. You are in my heart!

  6. 18 June 2012 9:35 pm

    I saw fireflies for the first time this season last night. Beautiful poem.

    • Derek permalink*
      19 June 2012 8:20 am

      Thank-you all so much for all of your beautiful summertide comments!
      May you all experience many, many fireflies, and may they spark your hearts to open even wider! 🙂

  7. 27 June 2012 4:47 pm

    Ah, the lingering bittersweet flavor of a summer love poem. I usually don’t go for this type of fare, but I can never go a full summer without reading at least one. Good work.

  8. 20 October 2012 10:34 pm

    Reblogged this on Adrian Tang Summary.

Leave a Reply

